Nelson's Monument Latitude: 0.052° 52' 41.1° N Longitude: 0.01 ° 26' 15.9° E
Nelson's Monument, properly called the Norfolk Naval Pillar, was originally conceived as a tribute to Nelson's victory at the battle of the Nile in 1797 and was completed 14 years after his death, in 1819. It was built on the sandy South Denes area, which at the time was an empty sand spit with only the Officers' Racecourse upon it. The Monument stood right in the centre of it as a stunning memorial to one of England's greatest naval heroes.
The Norfolk Nelson Museum is running personal tours up the Monument during 2009 on one weekend each month during the summer. See www.nelson-museum.co.uk for further details and booking.
The museum is also organising the Trafalgar Day Service on Sunday October 18th 2009 (12.30).
Our timed tours last for thirty minutes, are available for only two people at a time, are led by a trained Monument Guide and cost £6.00 per person.
Visitors can look at the Monument at any time, but tours up it run on two days each month April - September. See www.nelson-museum.co.uk for the dates and more information.
Monument Road, off Salmon Road, Great Yarmouth.
Due to the slim spiral staircase and very small viewing platform at the top, only two visitors and the guide can make the ascent at any one time. We regret that we cannot accept small children or visitors with heart, lung or mobility problems on the tours. The Monument has a parapet which is 1.3 metres high. Visitors will be asked to leave bags or bulky items in the care of another guide, who will be stationed at the base of the Monument.
Exceedingly inaccessible (217 slim spiral steps to viewing platform); however on tour days the Monument Guides will open the area inside the Monument gates which is accessible and gives a close-up view of the base of the Monument.
Text and braille information panels have been placed around the Monument;
How to Find Us
From the seafront, drive along Marine parade with the sea on your left. Continue along South Beach Parade past the industrial area and turn right into Monument Road; the Monument is clearly visible from the road.
From the Quayside, drive along the quay with the river on your right and through the industrial area along South Denes Road. Turn left at Salmon Road and right into either Admiralty Road and left into Monument Road.
There is free parking available all around the Monument and along the seafront, but spaces may be full during the week.