Home - Museums - Themes - Exhibitions - News - Contribute - Search -

Current Museum

Lynn Museum

Lynn Museum

Online Exhibitions

Click on the link below to see the online exhibition of items in our collection

The Maritime Collections of King's Lynn Museums

About Us

The Museum is housed in a former Union Baptist Chapel and schoolroom adjacent to the town’s bus station.

In the 'Seahenge' Gallery visitors can marvel at the unique and mysterious 4,000 year-old timber circle found at Holme next the Sea. The circle appeared on the North Norfolk beach in the late 1990s. It was preserved in peat beds and was composed of a complete circle of timbers enclosing a central upturned tree stump. Visitors can view half of the original timber circle, together with a reconstruction of what the circle might have looked like when it was built in 2049 B.C. Also on display are Bronze Age artefacts from the museum collections including gold torcs, bronze axes and pottery.

In the main gallery discover the story of Kings Lynn and West Norfolk told through thematic displays. Find out about local archaeology from the Iron Age to the Saxons (Invaders and Settlers), Medieval Lynn, Maritime Heritage, Town and Country Life, Working Life, and Cabinet of Curiosities.

Some of the highlights from the collections are displayed in a central display case which corresponds to the wall case themes. Many of these items have been purchased for the collections with the help of the Friends of the King's Lynn Museum.  Here you can see the Sedgeford Iceni gold coin hoard found hidden in a cow bone, the Celtic strap union from Reffley, the Saxon sword pommel from Congham, and James Sillett’s painting of the Norwich stagecoach in Lynn.  Also on show is Lynn novelist Fanny Burney’s pocket watch, Frederick Savage’s dobby horse and gallopers and oil paintings by well-known local artists such as Henry Baines and Walter Dexter.

Lynn Museum features a permanent display on the maritime history of King's Lynn. Lynn's history of whaling is illustrated by exhibits including a ship model, scrimshaw, whale bone, harpoons and blubber pans. Sailor's hand-made artefacts include carved wood dolls and a painted sea chest. The ship surgeon's tool kit contains an amputation saw.

Captain Manby invented the life-saving line to rescue ship-wrecked sailors, and one of his mortars for firing the line is on display. Horatio Nelson was born in West Norfolk, and memorabilia item associated with him can be seen.

 

Exhibitions at Lynn Museum

Lynn Museum has a changing programme of exciting temporary exhibitions.

Art of the Mart
 - 25 July 2015 - 2 July 2016
This exhibition looks at the art, craft and design of King’s Lynn’s funfair, known as ‘the Mart’. The Mart opens each year on Valentine’s Day, traditionally the first of the fairs in the Showmen’s year. King’s Lynn was famous in Victorian times as the home of creators of steam-powered merry-go-rounds, Savage’s Ltd.

Admission Costs

Free admission October - March

Admission 1 April – 30 September (prices as of April 2015)

Adult £3.95
Concession £3.55
Child (4-18) £2.95
Family ticket – 1 adult + all children £8.30
Family ticket – 2 adults + all children £11.00
Pop in for £1 – one hour tickets available daily after 4pm.

Opening Hours

Open all year Tues – Sat 10am – 5pm

Address

Lynn Museum
Market Street

King's Lynn
Norfolk

PE30 1NL

Tel 01553 775001

Email: lynn.museum@norfolk.gov.uk

Latitude: 52.75384652° 52' 41.1° N Longitude: 0.3991131 ° 26' 15.9° E

 

Other Information

Facilities:

• Souvenir shop
• Baby changing facilities
• Accessible toilets

Website: www.museums.norfolk.gov.uk/Visit_Us/Lynn_Museum

Twitter: @Lynn_Museum

Facebook: LynnMuseumNorfolk

 

Accessibility

The museum is easy to get to by public transport and the entrance is in King’s Lynn bus station.

Visitors with disabilities may bring one companion in free. The museum is accessible to wheelchair users.

Audio guides are available for use around the museum.

Assistance dogs are welcome.

For further information please call 01553 775001.

How to Find Us

The Museum is on Market Street, next to the town's Bus Station.

Pay and display parking is also available nearby.

 

Some Photos of Our Museum

This oil on canvas was painted by Lynn-born artist Henry Baines around 1855-1865.
'King's Lynn South Quay with St. Margaret's Church' by Henry Baines (1823-1894).

Add a Comment

In order to defeat spam we require javascript to be enabled in your browser before you can comment on this site.

Norfolk

suffolk

Essex